

CITY COUNCIL CITY OF CHICAGO

COUNCIL CHAMBER
CITY HALL - 2ND FLOOR
121 NORTH LASALLE STREET
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60602

COMMITEE CHAIRMAN
ECONOMIC, CAPITAL, AND TECHNOLOGY DEVELOPMENT
COMMITEE VICE CHAIRMAN

COMMITTEES AND RULES
COMMITEE MEMBERSHIPS

MONTHLY REPORT — July 2020

Pursuant to Rule 45 of the City Council Rules of Order, the **Committee on Economic, Capital and Technology Development** submits the following **Monthly Report for July 2020**.

Committee Meeting Held on July 9, 2020

In compliance with Governor Pritzker's Executive Orders 2020-7, 2020-10, and 2020-18, attendance at this meeting was held by remote means only.

Chairman Villegas called the meeting to order at 12:03 PM

<u>Item 1:</u>

The following members of the Committee were present as determined during roll call: Aldermen Villegas, Mitchell, Sawyer, Harris, O'Shea, Tabares, Burnett, Reboyras, Sposato, Vasquez, Reilly, Hadden. With 12 members present, it was determined a quorum was present

<u>Item 2:</u>

Chairman Villegas requested a motion to approve the Rule 45 Monthly Report of the Chicago City Council Committee on Economic, Capital and Technology Development for the month of June 2020.

Alderman Reilly motioned to approve the Rule 45 report. The motion passed unanimously via voice vote.

Public Comment:

Chairman Villegas noted that due to the remote format of the meeting, public comment would be held at the beginning of the meeting. Nobody signed up for public comment.

<u>Item 3:</u>

The following items were voted on collectively:

A2020-61 Reappointment of Diane C. Tanios as member of Special Service Area No. 8, Lakeview East Commission;

A2020-62 Reappointment of David L. Gassman as member of Special Service Area No. 17, Central Lakeview Commission;

A2020-63 Reappointment David Blitz as member of Special Service Area No. 17, Central Lakeview Commission;

A2020-64 Reappointment of Henry C. Schuppert as member of Special Service Area No. 17, Central Lakeview Commission;

A2020-65 Reappointment of James G. Schuman as member of Special Service Area No. 17, Central Lakeview Commission;

A2020-66 Reappointment of John L. Bucksbaum as member of Special Service Area No. 17, Central Lakeview Commission;

A2020-67 Reappointment of Carrie J. Sullivan as member of Special Service Area No. 19, Howard Street Commission;

A2020-68 Appointment of Michael Smith as member of Special Service Area No. 19, Howard Street Commission:

A2020-69 Appointment of John L. Ratzenberger as member of Special Service Area No. 21, Lincoln Square Commission;

A2020-70 Reappointment of Melaina L. Prest as member of Special Service Area No. 21, Lincoln Square Commission;

A2020-71 Reappointment of Noreen Keeney as member of Special Service Area No. 34, Uptown Commission:

A2020-72 Reappointment of Joshua A. Reitman as member of Special Service Area No. 34, Uptown Commission;

A2020-73 Appointment of Ilesa Duncan as member of Special Service Area No. 24, Clark Street Commission:

A2020-74 Appointment of James B. Miller as member of Special Service Area No. 27, West Lakeview Commission;

A2020-75 Appointment of Joanne M. Buckwalter as member of Special Service Area No. 28, Six Corners Commission;

A2020-76 Appointment of Mary Giovenco Garcia as member of Special Service Area No. 28, Six Corners Commission;

A2020-77 Appointment of Juanita Mora as member of Special Service Area No. 28, Six Corners Commission;

A2020-78 Appointment of Kevin J. Greco as member of Special Service Area No. 35, Lincoln Avenue Commission; and

A2020-79 Appointment of Anthony A. Qaiyum as member of Special Service Area No. 21, Lincoln Square Commission.

Chairman Villegas asked if any of the appointees would like to make a statement.

- None of the appointees indicated they would like to make a statement.
- Chairman Villegas asked if any of the aldermen had questions or comments.
- Alderwoman Hadden thanked Ilesa Duncan, Carrie Sullivan and Michael Smith for representing the 49th Ward.
- Chairman Villegas thanked the appointees noting that the City Council is serious about working
 with SSAs and invited them to reach out to his office and that of the local alderman with any ideas
 aimed at improving commercial corridors.
- Alderman Reilly motioned "do pass" by the same vote as was applied to determine quorum. There were no objections.

Alderman Curtis requested to be added to the roll call and vote.

Item 4:.

O2020-104 Support of Class L tax incentive for property(s) at 2300-2304 S Indiana Ave for McCormick Hospitality South LLC

- Dijana Cuvalo, from the Department of Planning and Development, gave the presentation for the project. There was an interruption to her presentation due to technical difficulties with the power point display.
- Chairman Villegas noted that Alderman Dowell, who represents the ward in which the project is located, was present and would like to comment.
- Alderman Dowell thanked the committee and asked for the committee's support. She explained
 all the effort she, the owners, and developers had put forth so that the project would be beneficial
 to all insofar as additional property tax revenue generated, jobs created, and fair wages of those
 jobs.
- There were no further questions from committee members.
- Chairman Villegas asked for a motion to recommend passage by the same vote that was used to determine quorum.
- Alderman Sposato so moved.
- The ordinance was recommended "do pass", with no objections.

<u>Item 5:</u>

O2020-3462 Recertification of Class 8 tax status for acreage in the vicinity of W Parker Ave, N Pulaski Rd, and W George St

- William Grams, Financial Planning Analyst with the Department of Planning and Development, gave a power point presentation after a brief delay due to similar technical difficulties. Mr. Grams noted that Alderman Cardona, who represents the ward in which the property is located, is in full support of the recertification.
- There were no further questions from committee members.
- Chairman Villegas asked for a motion to recommend passage by the same vote that was used to determine quorum.
- Alderman Reilly so moved.
- The ordinance was recommended "do pass", with no objections.

All business being concluded, Chairman Villegas asked for a motion to adjourn.

Alderman Reilly motioned to adjourn, with all members voting in favor.

Chairman Villegas adjourned the meeting at 12:25 PM.

The members of the Committee on Economic, Capital and Technology Development in attendance included: Alderman Villegas (36), Mitchell (7), Sawyer (6), Harris (8), Beale (9), Curtis (18), O'Shea (19), Tabares (23), Burnett (27), Reboyras (30), Sposato (38) Vasquez (40), Reilly (42), Tunney (44), Hadden (49)

Members of the City Council not on the Committee in attendance included: Alderman Dowell (3), Gardiner (45)

Respectfully submitted by: Carlos Díaz For the Committee on Economic, Capital and Technology Development